Weight Loss Beginnings

My struggles with weight loss began probably about 12 years ago.  I wasn’t overweight as a child, so it wasn’t until I became an adult when I started having issues. I was working full-time and going to school for my MBA, also on a full time basis. That didn’t leave much time for cooking, so on the way to class everyday, I would stop by McDonalds.  I also began began taking Depo-Provera shots. Suffice it to say…I blew up!  I come from a family full of overweight people, so it wasn’t hard gaining weight. Ha!

I’ve tried a number of weight loss programs: calorie counting, Weight Watchers, Metabolic Research Center, and appetite suppressants.  MRC was way too restrictive! I had the most success on WW. In fact, I lost 30 pounds, but I gained it all back before, during, and after I had my son (LOL).  All in all, I need to lose close to 100 pounds, by the grace of God. At least, that’s my ideal goal.

I am knocking on 40 years old, so I know my likes and dislikes by now.  I know that I don’t like counting calories and points because it forces me to think about food too much – measuring, logging, counting…it was constantly on my mind.

So it seems like MRC would have been perfect…right?  Wrong!! Not only were the food choices really restricted, but I had to cook and prepare food A LOT (because their food choices was so restrictive)! That did not work with my infant son.  I was spending almost 2 hours every night preparing my food for the next day.  Thank God my husband was so understanding.  Plus, that was taking away too much time from my baby. I do work full-time as well, so MRC wasn’t working out.

So, I’ve decided to do Medifast.  It comes doctor-recommended, and the weight will come off faster than some other plans.  Everything is decided for me – packages are already pre-portioned and ready to go. Plus, I get one “real” meal per day (non-starchy veggie and lean meat).  Even though it is strict, I don’t have to count every thing and spend hours per day preparing meals.  I know, however, I will be using a different method for maintenance (once I get to my goal). I won’t reveal that right now, but if I get close to my goal, I will. Exercise comes about 3 weeks into the plan so my body won’t go into full shock! LOL!

Since I am close to 40, my body is changing. My knee is starting to bother me every now and then. My cholesterol is too high.  If I sit for too long (about 30 minutes) I get really stiff.  I feel like I’m getting old before my time.  I just want to get my health and body okay, without focusing on the number on the scale.  I have been blessed to not acquire diabetes and high blood pressure, which also run in my family. (In fact, it’s VERY common in black families).

I just pray that I get through it this time and finish…

(My next post will be about my anticipated conversion to Catholicism.)

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss Beginnings

  1. As a nurse, I’m looking forward to reading more about your weight loss progress. You’re so right about diabetes and high blood pressure being very common in black families…..good for you for being mindful of that. What are you doing for exercise, which is a very important part of weight loss as well as preventing diabetes and high blood pressure? Keep on truckin”……………….

  2. Thank you. As far as exercise goes, the plan states to hold of on it for the first 2-3 weeks until your body gets acclimated to the calorie restriction. After that, I plan to start a little slow by walking 3 times a week and progress from there to elliptical and weigh training.

Leave a Reply

