You want to become Catholic??? But wait a minute….you’re black. Part 2

….my son was born…

God planted a seed in my heart. So, I began to research the Catholic faith.  I read everything that I could get my hands on.  (Even at this point, I am so sick of reading, but I cannot help myself – I can’t stop.)

I started attending mass on a regular basis and I kept reading and researching.

Then my fallen-away-from-the-Church husband told me that he was thinking about having our son baptized in the Catholic Church.  You could have pushed me over with a feather!!!  He then told me that he kind of wanted his son to grow up like he did – going to a Catholic school, being a alter boy, etc. I was floored to say the least.

It was at this moment that I knew God was calling me into the Church.  Through me, the Lord was calling one of is wayward children – my husband – back into the faith; back to being a Christian!  I knew my husband was watching me – my actions and my words.  He was/is very supportive.

I am not going to sugar-coat it: there was sometimes where I did not agree with the Church (and still do not) and the opinions of some of her people (I’ll save that for later posts).    But no matter how far away I tried to run, God kept pulling me back.

I eventually had to submit to His will.  So I decided to inquire about the RCIA (Right of Christian Initiation of Adults) classes.  They will begin the weekend after Labor Day!  I am excited, but nervous at the same time.  But my faith in Jesus is strong and I know that this is the right path for me.

Leave a Reply

