The first day of the rest of my life.

[Different thoughts going in my head… And this song by Prince is stuck in my head. The best line of that song is “Nobody said the race was fair, but I’m gonna keep runnin’ just the same” – It’s my motto now.]

Sine it’s Day 1 on my weightloss plan, I have noticed a lot of food-related things:

On my commute to work everyday, I pass three McDonalds, three Burger Kings, one Krispy Kreme, one Taco Bell, one Chick Fil-A, one Starbucks, one Dunkin Donuts, two chinese restaurants, one Sheik, and one Krystals. I also notice that there are a lot of food commercials that are aired during all times of the day. Honestly, I am glad that I notice these things, so I won’t be blind-sided by temptation.  I know where it may come from…LOL.

My dream is to jog/run for a few miles. Everyone that I know who runs on a regular basis say it’s relaxing and clears their heads.  What a great avenue in which to experience that relaxation.

I don’t want to be a size 6. It’s not my goal. It’s to be a size 10, but i don’t know if I can maintain it. I’m sure it would take a lot of work, but I will try to get there. I am not saying that I can’t do it and or I am not gonna try. I am going to try hard to get there.  It will probably take a 100lb loss for me which is no easy thing, but I cannot give up on myself!

The number of the scale is not important to me. I just want to be able to shop in the “regular’ sizes and not the plus size store/sections, like I do now.

With God’s help, I will get there…

/ramblings

6 thoughts on “The first day of the rest of my life.

  1. You can do this! Your title actually reminds me of a song by Matt Maher called Hold Us Together. I think you would like it. Sounds like you have a lot going on all at one time. I can definitely relate. I was going through RCIA the same time I was trying to knock off weight. I was able to shed 80lbs, but after a couple of back injuries I gained it back. My problem was not adjusting my food to my new activity level. As for all those fast food places you mentioned, believe it or not there is ‘some’ healthy food in there. I love the spinach wrap a Starbuck’s, it’s perfect for a quick breakfast. Just do a little research and you will be fine. Myfitnesspal.com is great for looking food up, building recipes and tracking your food/exercise. Keep up the great work and you will get there!

  2. You can do it! Its all in your mindset! Set reachable goals and once you reach that one, make a new one! Often we expect too much from ourselves too quickly. Weightliss is a journey that begins with baby steps one day at a time! Dont let the scale rule you! Keep your head up and know each day is a new day! A slip today doesnt mean all is lost! Each little change you make will eventually make a difference if you keep at it! Goodluck! I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

